0,00 € Registrar

Finalists Prize for Contemporary Architecture of the European Union - Reward Mies Van Der Rohe

The European Commission and the Mies van der Rohe Foundation announced the five finalists who will compete for the Prize 2013 European Union Contemporary Architecture – Premio Mies van der Rohe. In total have been nominated for the Award 335 works of the 37 European countries participating in the EU Culture Programme. A jury of experts made the final list of finalists. The winner of the Prize and the Emerging Architect Special Mention will be announced in early May and the award ceremony will be held on 6 June at the Mies van der Rohe Barcelona, Spain.
"I congratulate all architects who have been nominated and, particularly, the finalists. European architecture boasts an enormous talent and is a shining example of the dynamism of our cultural and creative sectors. At the same time, we are aware that the architecture has to face significant challenges resulting from the economic crisis. The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe remain committed to supporting small businesses, as significantly contributing to the economy and job creation, and create beauty and be a driver of the cohesion of our society. Continue to support the architecture, including the award, Thanks to future Creative Europe Programme ", declara Vassiliou, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth.
The five finalists are:
City of Ghent, Bélgica
Robbrecht and Daem architects; Marie-José Van Hee architecten

Superkilen, Copenhagen, Denmark
BIG Bjarke Ingels Group; Topotek1; Superflex

Harpa – Auditorio y Centro de Congresos de Reikiavik, Iceland
Batteríid architects; Henning Larsen Architects; Studio Olafur Eliasson

Nursing home, Alcácer do Sal, Portugal
Aires Mateus Arquitectos

Metropol Parasol, Seville, España
J. Mayer H.

The architectural industry is central to the European cultural and creative industries. Directly employs more than half a million people and the construction sector employs other 12 million. The contribution of cultural and creative industries as a whole is greater than the 4,5 % EU GDP.
Contemporary Architecture Prize of the European Union – Mies van der Rohe Award highlights the contribution of European architects to develop new ideas and technologies in the contemporary urban development. Launched in 1987, Award, which has a budget of 60.000 EUR and is funded by the Culture Programme of the European Union and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe, is the most prestigious of European architecture. Awarded every two years to a work completed in the previous two years. This year will be held for the thirteenth time the awards ceremony.
The works nominated for the award are nominated by independent experts from across Europe, associations as well as members of the Board of Architects of Europe, national associations of architects and Advisory Committee Award.
Jurors who have selected the finalists 2013 its: Wiel Arets, President of the jury / Wiel Arets Architects, Maastricht; Peter Gadanho, Commissioner of contemporary architecture, Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), NY; Antón García-Abril, Ensamble Studio, Madrid; Louisa Hutton, Sauerbruch Hutton Architects, Berlin; Kent Martinussen, President and CEO, The Danish Architecture Center (DAC), Copenhagen; Frédéric Migaryou, Director, Architecture & Design, Pompidou Center, Paris; Eve Porębska, Editor in chief, Architecture-murator, Warsaw; y Giovanna Carnevali, Jury Secretary / Director, Fundació Mies van der Rohe, Barcelona.
The award is named in honor of Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, considered one of the pioneers of modern architecture of the twentieth century. Among his most celebrated works are the German Pavilion of the World Expo in Barcelona 1929; Villa Tugendhat one Brno, Czech Republic; the Seagram Building in New York; and the National Gallery in Berlin.
You can download the complete list 335 nominated works by clicking on the names of the following countries:
Albania ,.Germany ,.Antigua República Yugoslava de Macedonia ,.Austria ,.Bélgica ,.Bosnia y Herzegovina ,.Bulgaria ,.Czech Republic ,.Cyprus ,.Croatia ,Denmark ,.Slovakia ,.Slovenia ,.España ,.Estonia ,.Finland ,.France ,.Greece ,.Hungría ,.Ireland ,.Iceland ,.Italy ,.Latvia ,.Liechtenstein ,Lithuania ,.Luxembourg ,.Malta ,.Montenegro ,.Norway ,.Países Bajos ,.Poland ,.Portugal ,.United Kingdom ,.Rumanía ,.Serbia ,.Sweden andTurquía .
Past recipients include:
New Museumthe Berlín, Germany, de David Chipperfield/David Chipperfield Architects, in collaboration with Julian Harrap
Opera and National Ballet of Norway, Oslo, Norway, the Snøhetta / Kjetil Thorsen Trædal, Tarald Lundevall, Craig Dykers
Netherlands Embassy in Berlin, Germany, the OMA / Rem Koolhaas, Ellen van Loon
Kursaal Centerde San Sebastián, Spain, of Rafael Moneo
Parking and Terminal North Hoenheim, Strasbourg, France, the Zaha Hadid / Zaha Hadid Architects
Bregenz Art Museum, Austria, de Peter Zumthor
National Library of France, Paris, France, Dominique Perrault
Stansted Airport, London, United Kingdom, by Norman Foster / Norman Foster Partners
Banco Borges and Brother, Vila do Conde, Portugal, Álvaro Siza Vieira de

If you want to know more: / culture
Social Networks:!/pages/EU-Prize-for-Contemporary-Architecture-Mies-van-der-Rohe-Award /294138800697929

Comments are closed.